Club History

History of Beeston Athletic Club

Beeston AC was formerly called Siemens AC and Plessey AC. It was the works running club for many years, but recently has been detached and is now independant but associated with Trent Vale Sports Association.

Milford 21 1985 (before the start!) Photo Chris Moore.

Chris Moore (L) and Tony Rushton at the finish of the County Champs January 1981(Courtesy of Tony Rushton)

The Ericsson Telephones sports field was in the area where the bowling greens and just demolished canteens and ballroom were. WG Grace even played cricket there. The annual sports and gala day included athletic events which were mainly inter-departmental. It expanded into an open track and cycling sports event. This increased in popularity and attracted quality international athletes. The 15 mile road race became the Notts Championship which was eventually abandoned because of increasing traffic problems. It is now raced over a half marathon distance. The 1966 programme included entries from Ron Hill, who raced regularly here, John Whetton, former European 1500m champion, Ken Wood a four minute miler, plus many local athletes such as Peter Calladine, Harry Leaming, Ron Tutin, etc. In 1955 the Nottingham City Athletic League was formed, which incorporated business houses such as Players, Boots, City Police, Ericsson, etc. Although the athletes were members of athletic clubs such Notts AC they were allowed to compete for their works team. Ericsson AC, later Plessey, were very successful in the City League, although mainly a Cross Country and Road Racing Club they recruited some fine sprinters from the Weight Lifting Section who later became County Champions.

Explore Beeston’s History website suggests an earlier Beeston AC circa 1900

Ericsson Sports Programme 1966

Ericsson Sports Ticket 1966

1968 Program

1968 Program insert with inscriptions